Growing Love in Your Kids at Christmas

12 Days of Christmas Parenting

It’s hard to believe that Christmas is right around the corner! It seems like we just celebrated Thanksgiving a few days ago. This time last year, I posted a holiday blog tour called: “The 12 Days of Christmas Parenting”  on the blogs some of my favorite people. This year, I’ll be posting those articles on my blog for those who either missed it last year – or need a reminder for some practical ways to lead your kids during this busy season!

I’ll share tips for parents on how to navigate the difficult traps of the holidays, and create moments with life long impact. We’ll talk about 12 ideas to combat ingratitude, selfishness and impatience — and encourage generosity in your children, especially through the holidays.

Today’s post originally appeared on the blog of my good friend, Maurilio Amorim. He is the CEO of The A Group in Nashville, TN. He and his wife, Gwen are having fun parenting 2 Generation iY boys. You can follow Maurilio on Twitter here.




Growing Love in Your Kids at Christmas


We probably talk about this concept more today than ever before, but actually practice it less than ever. At least in the way God intended us to do so. We find love in movies, romance novels, in Hallmark cards, on YouTube, and on bumper stickers. At Christmas time, especially, love is promoted by stores to push sales, and by cinemas to sell tickets. We all love the idea of love!

But how do we practice it on the people we are closest to — like — in our home? Sometimes, the hardest people to love are not the strangers we meet out shopping, but our own family members.

Try this simple idea.

Sit down at dinner one night and talk about “love languages.” You may be familiar with the concept. Dr. Gary Chapman introduced it to us in his 1992 book: The Five Love Languages. After many years of counseling, Dr. Chapman noticed a pattern: Everyone he had ever counseled had a “love language;” a primary way of expressing and interpreting love. He also discovered that for whatever reason, people are usually drawn to those who speak a different love language than their own. The 5 love languages are:

1. Words of Affirmation (Speaking words of encouragement, favor and belief)
2. Quality Time (Spending focused time just sharing with another person)
3. Physical Touch (Holding hands, offering a hug or a squeeze to express affection)
4. Deeds of Service (Finding ways to serve someone by doing something for them)
5. Tangible Gifts (Providing some tangible gift that the other person appreciates)

Allow each family member to discuss which of these is their favorite. Then, have each family member write down their name and what their top love language is. Next, divide them up secretly. Each person should have the name of someone else in the family. The assignment is this: Each person must find a way to “speak” that love language to the person they drew. The following week, talk about what happened. Then discuss: How could this be a regular practice in our family, not just at the holidays, but year round?

“If someone says ‘I love God’ but hates a Christian brother or sister, that person is a liar; for if we don’t love people we can see, how can we love God, whom we cannot see?”  (I John 4:20)

How can we grow love in our kids at Christmas?

Growing Love in Your Kids at Christmas